On 25th June 1198 the new Abbey of Cleeve was founded, dedicated to the Blessed Virgin and originally named Vallis Florida or Vale of Flowers.
Since then the Black Death, the dissolution of the monasteries, destruction of the Abbey Church and use as a farmhouse, have all played a part in the 800 year history of Cleeve Abbey. Today, it survives as a haven of peace and tranquillity, one of the undiscovered jewels of Somerset boasting magnificent architecture and hidden treasures.
Some of the finest cloister buildings in England can be seen including the magnificent 15th century timber roof in the refectory with its exquisite carved angels, the unique medieval wall paintings of the Painted Chamber and the heraldic tile pavements. One of the greatest pleasures however is to explore the numerous nooks and crannies, which reveal hidden carvings and paintings, from the hands of craftsmen long ago.
An exhibition and virtual tour tell the story of Abbey life and a 'story bag' 'Brother Cedric and the Missing Sheep', is a fun way for families to explore the Abbey together.
Tea/Coffee and Soft Drinks available on site.